6 weeks of no competing, makes for a busy time.

Image

You would think 6 weeks off from competing would be a bit relaxing, but let me tell you.

The bill paying part of my life has gotten busier and less employees to do it. This has been leading to a bit more sleeplessness. This could be a benefit as I may be better prepared to function on no sleep during a comp.

After our last competition our motor home developed an electrical gremlin. I am no electrician by any means, but hate the thought of spending a bunch of money to repair a possible easy fix. So I spent a good deal of time reading forums, talking to friends and outright guessing solutions. This lead me to replace a solenoid, almost the wrong one. But that didn’t fix the problem, so I guessed at replacing the switch. I bet you didn’t know that a switch has 7 very small pieces, not counting the broken pieces (from my doing). That didn’t fix the problem. My wife finally says “Instead of you continuing to spend money trying to fix it, why don’t you spend some money and get it fixed?”. I told her “Because it is probably a small, simple fix”. I conceded and sent it in, guess what? Yup it was a simple fix. I didn’t get a good connection to the fuses of the solenoid. Someone once told me there are 2 days of happiness owning an RV, The day you buy it and the day you sell it. I was starting to see what he was talking about.

This past weekend we cooked for Georgetown Ambulance’s Annual Community BBQ. 162 Lbs of pork, 40 Lbs of chicken quarters and 15 slabs of ribs. Holy cow was that a challenge. At the end of the day it was a success with everything being sold.

Then I had to back out of the Sertoma 48 BBQ competition, because a spot opened up at a much closer event, the Sam’s Club National BBQ Tour in St. Charles, MO. For some reason this competition has been bugging me. I am trying not to over think or change my normal game plan. The level of competitor is very high for these events and leaves very little room for error in cooking. The goal of this event is to finish in the top 6, by doing so, you move on to the Regional event. No stress at all thinking about that.

Then as if I didn’t have enough to do already, I started an outdoor kitchen build. The progress was moving along pretty swiftly,however, it seems like the weather and free time have been working against me. 

So here I am on a Monday and it occurs to me that I haven’t even gone through my competition checklist. UGH!!! Every 3rd day off just isn’t enough.

I need a vacation.

 

Leave a Reply

