Go educate yourself, before your frustrate yourself.

82sbbq-PNG_vectorized

Here it is in mid January and as I look out the window I watch the snow slowly fall and think to myself, I’d sure like to cook something this weekend.

Normally that isn’t an issue, but man the weather isn’t necessarily cooperating. I’ll cook in just about anything, but I do also like to be comfortable if possible.

The urge to cook is only magnified by the fact that I had the opportunity to take a cooking class last weekend and I am itching to try an duplicate what I learned. I’m sure that any BBQ team that has ever asked what the should do when they started competing, has heard the answer “Take a cooking class”. I can not echo enough how much that has helped me in thinking about what I am serving to the judges. It is one thing to think that you are cooking winning BBQ, but it is also another to taste the BBQ of a team that is winning.

Last year we struggle with chicken and after tasting the instructor’s example I now know why we struggled. What I thought was a flavorful piece of chicken thigh, turned out to be a piece of cardboard in comparison.

I had always had a hard time dumping money into someone else’s pocket, but thinking about it now that’s basically what I was doing by going to comps and not coming home with money.

Looking at it from a money perspective, you can spend $600+ going to a comp and gambling what might win or spend $500 and know what is winning.

This upcoming year will hopefully bring more smiles and a few trophies.

 

Leave a Reply

